How to Clear Your Activity Log on Facebook

0

Whether you spend hours a day posting, liking and commenting on Facebook or haven’t used the social networking platform in weeks, everything you’ve done on the site is recorded in your activity log by chronological order.

The Activity Log can serve as an easy way to find a post, comment, or other action you want to share or review, but other times you just want to delete a record of certain Facebook activity.

While you can’t clear your entire Facebook activity log all at once, you can delete or delete individual activity records one by one.

Here’s how.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Macbook Pro (from $1,299 at Best Buy)

Microsoft Surface Pro 7 (from $999 at Best Buy)

How to Clear Your Activity Log on Facebook

1. Log in to your Facebook account on your Mac or PC and click on the small downward-facing arrow in the upper right corner of the screen, then click on “Activity Log”.

How to Clear Activity Log on Facebook 1

Your Facebook activity log is grouped by month, which can speed up the process of finding a post or comment you want to delete.

Steven John / Business Insider


2. Scroll to find an item you want to delete, then click the pencil icon at the end of the row.

3. Depending on the type of activity you’re looking to delete, you’ll have the option to “Delete” if it’s your own post or comment; “Contrary to” a publication; “Disamir” someone; or change the view status of a post to hide it from your timeline.

How to Clear Activity Log on Facebook 2

Remember that anything deleted from your activity log is also deleted from Facebook.

Steven John / Business Insider


If you are also looking to clear your Facebook search history, you can click on the word “MORE” under the word “Comments” in the left column of the activity log page, then click on “Search History”.

How to Clear Activity Log on Facebook 3

From a standard Facebook page, clicking the magnifying glass near the search bar will scroll through a list of recent searches, and you can remove them one by one by clicking the X.

Steven John / Business Insider


In the header showing “Search History” in the center of the screen, click “Clear Searches”, then confirm again in the pop-up window.

Share.

Comments are closed.