How to better control your Google account

0

Don’t have google account is almost unavoidable. You need it to work, download apps, and sign up for third-party services. More importantly, it helps you get the most out of all google services you use.

Google allows you to personalize your Google experience by offering several features that give you more control over your Google Account.

What is Personalization of ads

Google displays advertisements in many places. However, they are mainly categorized into two categories – Google Ads services such as YouTube, search and ads on non-Google websites and apps.

The ads personalization feature gives you control over which ads Google can show you. If a user activates the feature, it means that he authorizes Google to use his Google account information to personalize online advertisements.

It will apply to all browsers and devices where a user is logged in using their Google Account. Personalized ads will be seen both on Google services and on websites and apps that partner with Google to serve ads.

If ad personalization is turned off, Google will no longer use your information to serve ads. However, this does not mean that Google will start showing you random ads.

Advertisements may still be based on information such as the content of the website or app you are viewing, or your general location.

Activity controls available to users

Google records your online activity on Google sites and apps if web and app activity is enabled. These include related information such as location and search history.

Google says the information helps drive faster search results, better recommendations, and more personalized experiences in Maps, Search, and other Google services.

One can always monitor his web and app activity. Google offers three options to control their activity. It lets you see your activity, delete it manually, or choose to delete it automatically using the controls on the Web & App Activity page.

Another option available to Google users is to disable the feature and pause activity sharing. Although this does not share your immediate online information with Google, the company may temporarily use information from recent searches.

Google says this is done in order to improve the quality of the active search session.

FacebookTwitterLinkedin


Share.

Comments are closed.